Opening of the painting symposium

At 4 p.m. on Saturday 8 September, the symposium will be officially launched at Daugavpils Mark Rothko Art Centre with participant presentations during which they will introduce themselves, tell about their creative backgrounds and allow a glimpse into the ideas they intend to implement during the symposium.

International painting symposium “Mark Rothko”, which has become a fine tradition, will run 8 through 21 September at Daugavpils Mark Rothko Art Centre, this year – under the topic “Painting our future together”.
This year’s symposium has brought together 10 artists from 7 countries: Andrew Coldert, Elizabeth Barenis (the USA), Diana Cooperwhite (Ireland), Agra Ritiņa, Inga Brūvere (Latvia), George Meertens (the Netherlands), Katarzyna Kowalska, Pawel Wasowski (Poland), Arpád Fargó (Hungary), Edeltraut Rath (Germany).